Who plays those changes, Daddy?

Talisman writing

Well, here I am again, back to writing on this silly blog.  I like to think it’s kind of helpful for a few people, though.  If you are one of those people, you are my friend.  It may sound slightly moronic, but I don’t care.  This is a space for healing and I invite anybody to come long for the journey.

That being said, I thought I would return to a book I once read by Stephen King, called “The Talisman.”  I liked this book immensely because it shed light on the idea of choices and which choices led to ultimate change.  The main character in the book, Jack Sawyer, is a kind of adventurer (not unlike Tom Sawyer, see the similiarity?) that makes changes as he moves thorough the world of reality and the world of fantasy.  Most of these changes he is completely unaware of and they do a lot of good.  Some of them are larger and more layered; earthquakes and people’s deaths are the casual results of burying an apple in the “Terrritories” as they are named.

Jack is young and so believes that he is responsible for every one of these changes.  However, his guide and friend “Speedy Parker” reminds him that everybody has to bear their cross and that nobody should carry guilt around for things they haven’t done.  It is a very striking example of what I am trying to learn in the next chapter of my life.

Too often, people carry guilt from either choices they’ve made or from things they haven’t done, regrets I suppose.  I don’t think either should really define who you are as a person.  A choice is only a series of thoughts.  It has a beginning and an end.  Decisions will have to be made constantly through life and this is a fact.  But learning to leave things alone and trust that everything will work out is now a primary faith in the world.  One that this writer has finally seen the light in.

I guess in summary, it boils down to a simple choice.  Getting busy living with your choices, or get busy dying endlessly in retrospect.  I borrowed the line somewhat from Stephen King’s “The Shawshank Redemption” somewhat.  Not stolen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

